• Home
  • Our Capabilities / Our Projects
  • About Us
  • People & Careers
  • News & Publications
  • Our Office Locations

About Parsons Brinckerhoff

Industry Recognition

Parsons Brinckerhoff has long been recognized in our industry for the contributions we have made on behalf of our clients to the development of infrastructure projects worldwide. The awards we have won from professional associations in the architecture/engineering/construction community are a testament to our emphasis to INSPIRE the world's best teams to CREATE innovative solutions for physical assets that ENHANCE our communities for future generations.

Throughout our history, we have received some of the industry's highest honors. Parsons Brinckerhoff has twice won the Grand Conceptor Award, the top honor of the American Council of Engineering Companies, and 11 Parsons Brinckerhoff projects have won the Outstanding Civil Engineering Achievement Award from the American Society of Civil Engineers. In 2014, ENR New York named Parsons Brinckerhoff its top Design Firm of the Year for the New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut region. Roads and Bridges in 2014 named Parsons Brinckerhoff Top Design Firm for bridges, roads and highways, mass transit, and airports.

Our people, too, frequently receive recognition for their achievements from their colleagues in the infrastructure industry.

Steve Denton, Engineering Director in our Bristol, UK, office, was elected a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering. Greg Kelly, President and CEO of the combined US business of WSP/Parsons Brinckerhoff, recently was the recipient of the New Jersey Alliance for Action’s Engineering Excellence Award. 

Steve Denton

Greg Kelly








Parsons Brinckerhoff projects are frequently recognized by the industry for excellence in design or program/construction management, include the following: 

Airport TRAX

The Utah Transit Authority’s Airport TRAX light rail extension to Salt Lake City International Airport received four awards at the 2014 Alliant Build American Awards.

The San Francisco-Oakland Bay Bridge East Span project received the Best Use of Innovation Award for large projects from the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO), AAA, and the US Chamber of Commerce. Parsons Brinckerhoff worked with Caltrans, serving as civil and roadway designer of record for the span, which opened in September 2013.

The Dallas-Fort Worth (DFW) Connector, a massive expansion and reconstruction of one of the most congested highway interchanges in Texas, was honored as the P3 Project of the Year by the American Road & Transportation Builders Association (ARTBA) in Washington, DC.  Parsons Brinckerhoff served as lead designer for NorthGate Constructors, part of the joint venture that designed and built the highway for the Texas Department of Transportation.

Dallas-Fort Worth Connector

The Oakey Storm Drain Project, completed for the City of Las Vegas, received the American Public Works Association (APWA) 2013 Project of the year award from the Nevada Chapter. The Parsons Brinckerhoff team designed over 2,500 feet (1,524 meters) of master planned facility.

In the UK, the Beaminster Tunnel project in Dorset County was named the winner of Ground Engineering magazine’s 2014 UK Project Award, for a project with a geotechnical value between GBP £1 million and £3 million.

Airport Link

The International Federation of Consulting Engineers (FIDIC) recognized two Australian projects in 2014. Airport Link in Brisbane, one of the largest road and transport infrastructure projects in Australia’s history, was one of six Outstanding Projects of 2014. The project was designed by the Parsons Brinckerhoff Arup Joint Venture (PBA). The Ipswich Motorway Upgrade: Dinmore to Goodna Project in Brisbane received a FIDIC Award of Merit. For this project, Parsons Brinckerhoff was a member of an alliance which widened the roadway, and added new service roads and bridges as well as pedestrian pathways and bicycle lanes.

Hong Kong Design Institute

In Hong Kong, two projects were recognized with 2014 Quality Building Awards. The campuses of the Hong Kong Design Institute and the Hong Kong Institute of Vocational Education won the Best-of-All-Projects Quality Excellence Award and Grand Award in the Hong Kong Non-Residential (new building) category; and Hysan Place, located in the city’s thriving Causeway Bay commercial and retail district, received the Merit Award in the Hong Kong Non-Residential category.

Parsons Brinckerhoff and its employees also receive recognition for furthering diversity within the industry. For more, visit our Diverse Environments page.